The constituency of Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale was created in 2005 and takes in three different council areas; Dumfries and Galloway, South Lanarkshire and the Scottish Borders. It is one of the most rural constituencies in the whole of the United Kingdom.

It stretches from the English border to 10 miles outside of Edinburgh at the Leadburn Junction, with the M74 running through the heart of the constituency.

Industries such as agriculture, tourism, forestry and manufacturing are vitally important for helping to grow the rural economy.

During the summer months in particular there are lots of events in communities across Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale including historic riding of the marches, galas and agricultural shows.

The main towns and settlements across Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale include;


Eskdalemuir, Bentpath, Ewes, Langholm, Gilnockie, Harelaw, Rowanburn, Canonbie, Evertown, Closeburn, Penpont, Tynron, Keir, Thornhill, Durisdeer, Carronbridge, Kirkconnel, Kelloholm, Sanquhar, Wanlockhead, Hightae, Dalton, Carrutherstown, Cummertrees, Powfoot, Brydekirk, Creca, Dornock, Annan, Kettleholm, Lockerbie, Kirkmichael, Tinwald, Torthorwald, Collin, Mouswald, Clarencefield, Bankend, Glencaple, Kingholm Quay, Noblehill, Castledykes, Beattock, Ecclefechan, Eaglesfield, Kirkpatrick Fleming, Chapelknowe, Gretna, Gretna Green, Rigg, Eastriggs, Waterbeck, Middlebie, Tundergarth, Corrie, Boreland, Applegarth, Lochmaben, Templand, Sibbaldbie, Millhousebridge, Johnstonebridge, Wamphray, Moffat,


Crawford, Abington, Elvanfoot, Leadhills, Crawfordjohn, Glespin, Douglas, Douglas Water, Rigside, Coalburn, Roberton, Wiston, Symington, Carmichael, Pettinain, Thankerton, Quothquan, Elsrickle, Dolphinton, Biggar, Coulter, Lamington, Newbigging, Walston


Tweedsmuir, Broughton, Drumelzier, Stobo, Manor, Newlands, West Linton, Skirling, Netherurd, Carlops, Lamancha, Eddleston, Peebles, Cardrona, Innerleithen, Walkerburn, Traquair